BREWERTON — Phoenix’s Larry Wight on Friday posted his first Brewerton Speedway win of the season in the 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified feature.

Wight began the night just 12 points out of first place in the track’s Modified point standings with only a handful of races left to determine the track champion.

On Friday, he battled early with Tyler Trump and took the lead just before the halfway point of the feature. Once in front, Wight cruised to the checkered flag.

Other winners on Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil and Milton Cat Night were Amy Holland (Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman), Casey Sykes (U.S Air Force Mod Lites), and Chuck Powelczyk (Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair Four-Cylinders).

Nick Krause and Katelyn Hile brought the Modified feature to the initial green flag. Hile grabbed the lead before Krause slowed to a stop, ending his night with mechanical issues.

Trump took the lead on the restart, and by lap 5 he extended his advantage over Wight, Tim Sears Jr., Andrew Ferguson, and Hile.

After working on Trump, trying to find a way by, Wight powered off the low groove and shot by Trump for the lead on lap 17.

Wight bolted out to a big lead by lap 20, leaving Trump, Ferguson, Ron Davis and Sears in a tight fight for second through fifth.

A late caution flag erased Wight’s big lead, giving the field one last shot to steal the win away in a green-white-checkered finish. When racing resumed, Wight got a great restart and took the win. Sears was impressive on the restart, going from fifth to finish second. Completing the top five were Trump, Ferguson, and Billy Decker.

The new point standings show Tim Sears Jr. in front with 456, followed by Wight (448), Decker (444), Tom Sears Jr. (434), and Jimmy Phelps (408).

In Friday’s 25-lap Sportsman feature, Joe Sobotka led the opening three laps. After a caution flag, Tim Devendorf flew by Sobotka on the restart.

After a second yellow and restart on lap 4, Amy Holland took advantage as she got by Devendorf for the lead.

By lap 10, Holland opened a 10-car-length lead over Devendorf.

Caution flags on laps 12 and 13 erased Holland’s cushion, but he survived the restarts to capture her first-career Brewerton win. Chris Mackey, Alan Fink, Devendorf, and Earl Rudy completed the top five.

In the 20-lap Mod Lites feature, Doug Williams led the opening two laps before Brian Meyers blasted by him to seize the point.

A caution flag on lap 12 forced a restart, and Tucker Halliday grabbed the top spot two laps later.

With five laps to go Meyers regained the lead, but he did not hold it for long. His car spun in turns 3 and 4 and he lost positions.

Casey Sykes took the lead as the white flag waved. Halliday fought back, but it was Sykes at the checkers by 0.252 of a second. It was Sykes’ fourth Brewerton win in a row. Zack Babcock, Doug Williams and Brian Meyers came home third through fifth.

The 15-lap feature for the Four-Cylinders was a battle between Evan Wright and Chuck Powelczyk. Powelczyk hounded Wright every lap. With two laps to go, Powelczyk found the opening he needed to drive into the lead and go on to the win. Wright, Ken Pitsley, Scott Mallete, and Clayton Koch rounded out the top five.

In victory lane Chuck Powelczyk dedicated his win to his good friend Russ Cusson, who lost his life in the early 2000s.

Brewerton Speedway feature finishes

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Larry Wight, Tim Sears Jr., Tyler Trump, Andrew Ferguson, Billy Decker, Ron Davis III, Jimmy Phelps, Chris Hile, Chad Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Jim Witko Jr., Roy Bresnahan, Collin DuBois, Katelyn Hile, Tim Harris, Pat Ward, Nick Krause.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman (25 laps): Amy Holland, Chris Mackey, Alan Fink, Tim Devendorf, Earl Rudy, Zach Sobotka, Joe Sobotka, Kevin Root, Stephen Denton, John Strickler, Dylan Zacharias, Bob Henry Jr., J.J. Courcy, Willy Decker Jr., Tyler Murray, Colby Herzog, Jeff Prentice, Mark Yorker, Mike Fowler, Brandon Carvey, Bailey Groves, Corey Barker, Torrey Stoughtenger, Mike Prentice, Rick Rogala, Rich Townsend, Quinn Wallis, Jim Spano.

U.S. Air Force Mod Lites (20 laps): Casey Sykes, Tucker Halliday, Zack Babcock, Doug Williams, Brian Meyers, Justin Williams, Kyle Demo, Tom Mackey, Dave Brown, Kelly Skinner, Jim Dunham, Matt Magner, Hunter Lawton.

Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair Four-Cylinders (15 laps): Chuck Powelczyk, Evan Wright, Ken Pitsley, Scott Mallete, Clayton Koch, Adam Gates, Sam Curcie, Dylan Curcie, William Davis, Jacob Dupra, Tim Balins, Chris Bonoffski, Quinn Wallis. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.