BREWERTON — Drama and tension highlighted Friday’s racing at Brewerton Speedway as track championships came down to the final points night.

In the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifeds, the championship came down to Tim Sears Jr. and Larry Wight, who were both going for their first Brewerton track.

In the 35-lap feature, Phoenix’s Wight blasted into the lead on lap 3 and outran Tom Sears Jr. to the checkers for his second feature win of the year and the track championship.

Tim Sears Jr., who came into the night with a slim points lead, saw his run at the title end on lap 10 when he suddenly slowed and was pushed to the pits with what later was reported as ignition problems

Other feature winners on 87 Speed Championship Night were Zach Sobotka (Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman), and Clayton Brewer III (U.S Air Force Mod Lites).

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints ran a pair of 25-lap features, with Jonathan Preston sweeping both of them.

In the Modified feature, Roy Bresnahan led the opening two laps until Wight powered his way into the lead and put distance between himself and the rest of the top five.

On lap 10, Tim Sears Jr. saw his title hopes vanish as he suddenly slowed to a stop on the backstraight, bringing out the caution flag. When his car got pushed back to his pits, his team and other team members thrashed under the hood trying to get him back in the race, but to no avail.

Through 15 laps, Wight led Tom Sears Jr. by a few car lengths in a two-car breakaway at the front of the field. Tyler Trump, Bresnahan, Jimmy Phelps, Chad Phelps, and Billy Decker followed.

Wight kept extending his cushion on the way to the victory and the track title. Tom Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Decker, and Chris Hile completed the top five.

In the 25-lap Sportsman feature, three drivers were in the hunt for the championship. They were defending track champion and points leader Kevin Root, Chris Mackey, and Alan Fink.

John Stickler led until Zach Sobotka jumped to the high side and drove past Strickler exiting turn 4 on lap 4. By lap 10 Sobotka and Quinn Wallis were in a two-car breakaway at the front of the field, with Brandon Carvey, Mackey, and Fink in a close battle in the top five.

Root was not only battling for a track championship, he was also doing it with a front flat tire, making his car a handful to drive as he tried to keep Mackey and Fink in sight.

With 10 laps to go, Sobotka was still out front by 10 car lengths. Behind him, Mackey and Fink were bumper to bumper in second and third.

Over the final laps Sobotka was the class of the field in picking up the win. Fink, Mackey, Wallis, and Jim Spano finished second through fifth.

Root finished seventh and won the track championship by five points over Fink and by seven points over Mackey.

In the caution-free, 20-lap Mod Lites feature, there was no stopping Clayton Brewer III. Brewer took the lead on lap 2 from Justin Williams and won by almost five seconds over Mike Mullen. Kyle Demo, Casey Sykes, and Williams rounded out the top five.

Sykes over the season had five feature wins and 12 top-five finishes to collect his first Mod Lites track championship.

Jonathan Preston was the class of the field in a pair of Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints 25-lap features.

In the first feature Preston dominated until the late going when Billy VanInwegen and Danny Varin caught him in heavy lap traffic. Preston was up to the challenge, holding off VanInwegen and Varin in a close finish.

In the Aug. 16 holdover feature, Jeff Cook built up big leads only to see them erased by caution flags. On lap 15 Preston made the winning pass going on to his second win of the night. Matt Tanner, Cook, Chuck Hebing, and Josh Pieniazek chased Preston to the checkers.

The next racing action at Brewerton Speedway will be on Sept. 13 when the cars and stars of the Modified Super DIRTcar Series battle in the Duel at the Demon 100. Joining the Modifieds will be the DIRTcar Sportsman Championship Series in the Duel at the Demon 50. The grandstands will open at 5:30 p.m. and racing will start at 7:30 p.m.

Brewerton Speedway finishes

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Larry Wight, Tom Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, Chris Hile, Tyler Trump, Chad Phelps, Rob Bellinger, Roy Bresnahan, Pat Ward, Ron Davis III, Andrew Ferguson, Nick Krause, Katelyn Hile, Tim Harris, Tim Sears Jr.

Track Champion: Larry Wight.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman (25 laps): Zach Sobotka, Alan Fink, Chris Mackey, Quinn Wallis, Jim Spano, Brandon Carvey Kevin Root, Tyler Murray, Bob Henry Jr., Mark Yorker, Amy Holland, Corey Barker, Dylan Zacharias, Jeff Prentice, Sean Beardsley, Willy Decker Jr., Colby Herzog, Bailey Groves, Joe Sobotka, Earl Rudy, Jason Amidon, J.J. Courcy, Jeff Taylor, Tim Devendorf, John Strickler, Rich Townsend, Mike Fowler, Brian Evenden,

Track Champion: Kevin Root.

U.S Air Force Mod Lites (20 laps): Clayton Brewer III, Mike Mullen, Kyle Demo, Casey Sykes, Justin Williams, Joe Garafolo, Tucker Halliday, Hunter Lawton, Tom Mackey, Roger Olschewske, Kelly Skinner, Ben Reed.

Track Champion: Casey Sykes.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (25 laps): Jonathan Preston, Billy VanInwegen, Danny Varin, Jason Barney, Davie Franek, Larry Wight, Chuck Hebing, Sam Reakes IV, Josh Pieniazek, Ryan Harrison, Matt Tanner, Tommy Wickham, Jeff Cook, Brett Wright, Paulie Colagiovanni, Ryan Coniam, Emily VanInwegen, Josh Izzi, Kelly Hebing, Alex Bergeron, Tyler Cartier, Shawn Donath, Denny Peebles, Kyle Moffit.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (Aug. 16 Holdover, 25 laps): Jonathan Preston, Matt Tanner, Jeff Cook, Chuck Hebing, Josh Pieniazek, Sam Reakes IV, Denny Peebles, Kelly Hebing, Tyler Cartier, Tommy Wickham, Paulie Colagiovanni, Jason Barney, Shawn Donath, Scott Holcomb.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.