BREWERTON — Genoa’s Pat Ward took the lead on lap 28 and went on to win the 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified feature on Friday at Brewerton Speedway.

Ward sped to the checkered flag ahead of teammate Larry Wight. Completing the top five were Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, and Ron Davis III.

Ward said he and his team needed the victory after a rough couple of races earlier in the week when mechanical gremlins reared their ugly head. He was quick to credit his crew and entire LJL& Gypsum Racing Team for never giving up.

The racing program was sponsored by Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux and Thompson & Johnson Equipment Co, Inc.

Tim Harris jumped out to the early lead in the Modified feature and held the top spot until Davis carried momentum off the high groove and charged into the lead on lap 4.

With 15 laps completed, Davis led by more than four seconds. Ward and Roy Bresnahan raced side-by-side for second and third with Phelps and Wight showing in the top five.

With 10 laps remaining, Ward and Wight were rapidly closing in on the leader. After a caution flag on lap 26, the complexion of the race changed as Ward blasted into the lead on lap 28 with Wight racing into second on lap 30.

Over the final laps, Ward kept the point and was first under the checkers.

In the first 25-lap feature for the Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman class, Colby Herzog led the opening lap with Billy Clark taking over the lead one lap later. With five laps completed, Clark held a big advantage over Herzog. Behind them, Torrey Stoughtenger, Stephen Denton, and Mark Yorker slugged it out in the top five.

With 10 laps remaining Clark was still out front with a big lead. Herzog, Denton, defending track champion Kevin Root, and Yorker raced in the top five.

Root, who started 15th, moved into second with six laps left and set his sights on Clark, but Clark held on to grab his first Brewerton win since 2016. Root, Herzog, Denton and Yorker finished second through fifth.

The second 25-lap Sportsman feature, Willy Decker Jr. held a slim lead through five laps. J.J. Courcy, Zach Sobotka, Corey Barker, and Bob Henry Jr. followed.

Decker still led with 10 laps remaining, but Barker was within striking distance. After hounding Decker, Barker saw the opening he needed to drive under Decker and by him to be scored the new leader on lap 18. Barker went on to win the race over Decker, Henry, Sobotka, and Alan Fink.

The 20-lap U.S Air Force Mod Lites feature was a battle to the finish. Tom Mackey led the opening laps until a yellow on lap 8. On the restart, Casey Sykes drove under Mackey for the lead. Sykes survived caution flags and pressure from Zack Babcock to notch his second win in a row. Babcock, Mackey, Mike Mullen, and Joe Garafolo rounded out the top five.

Quinn Wallis led the opening laps of the Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 15-lap feature. After a lap 12 caution, Chris Bonoffski made the winning pass on the restart. Completing the top five at the finish were Chuck Powelczyk, Sam Currie, Tim Boylhart, and Clayton Koch.

On Friday, Brewerton Speedway’s racing program will include the winged warriors of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Speedweek. Joining ESS for the festival of speed will be the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman, and the U.S Air Force Mod Lites. The Fleet Repairs Tuck &Trailer Repair Four-Cylinders will have the night off.

Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30 p.m. Fans 18 and younger receive free grandstand admission.

Brewerton Speedway feature finishes

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Pat Ward, Larry Wight, Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, Ron Davis III, Tim Sears Jr., Joe August, Roy Bresnahan, Tom Sears Jr., Jim Witko, Matt Hulsizer, Rob Bellinger, Tyler Trump, Tim Harris, Katelyn Hile, Jason Occhino, Nick Krause, Chad Phelps, Andrew Ferguson, Chris Hile.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 (25 laps): Billy Clark Jr., Kevin Root, Colby Herzog, Stephen Denton, Mark Yorker, Mike Fowler, Jim Spano, Chris Mackey, Rich Townsend, Kyle Fink, Jeff Taylor, Tyler Murray, Torrey Stoughtenger, Joey Buonagurio, Tyler Corcoran, Brandon Carvey, Joe Sobotka, Riley Rogala, Dorian Wahdan, Dylan Zacharias, Rick Rogala,

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (25 laps): Corey Barker, Willy Decker Jr., Bob Henry Jr., Zach Sobotka, Alan Fink, Chris Cunningham, Quinn Wallis, J.J. Courcy, Earl Rudy, Mike Prentice, Amy Holland, Tim Devendorf, Jeff Prentice, Addison Bowman, Ricky Yelle, John Strickler, Bailey Groves, Ryan Dolbear, Jake Petit.

U.S Air Force Mod Lites (20 laps): Casey Sykes, Zack Babcock, Tom Mackey, Mike Mullen, Joe Garafolo, Justin Williams, Brian Meyers, Doug Williams, Hunter Lawton, Kelly Skinner, Roger Olschewske, Dave Brown, Ryan Halliday, Jim Dunham, Kyle Demo.

Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair Four-Cylinders (15 laps): Chris Bonoffski, Chuck Powelczyk, Sam Curcie, Timothy Boylhart, Clayton Koch, Dylan Curcie, Jacob Dupra, Quinn Wallis, Evan Wright.

Demolition Derbies: 4&6 Cylinder, Logan McNitt; Small Truck-Minivan, Shawn Aman.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.