FULTON — A new Fulton Speedway DIRTcar Modified winner trumped the field on Saturday.

Racing in heavy lapped traffic, Tyler Trump held off several challengers to notch his first DIRTcar Modified win at Fulton.

First, Trump had to fend off Tom Sears Jr., and later he had to outduel Tim Sears Jr. to take the checkered flag in the 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified feature.

Other winners on Stirling Lubricants/Champion Race Oil Night were Matt Janczuk, Mike Phelps, and Chris Mackey in the Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman class, Chad Homan in the Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models, and Cody Manitta in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman division.

A.J. Kingsley and Trump brought DIRTcar Modified 26-car starting field down to the initial green flag. Trump grabbed the early lead. He and Bobby Herrington were in a two-car breakaway battle for the lead. Behind the top two, Kingsley, Tom Sears Jr., and Dave Marcuccilli had a tight race in the top five.

Trump extended his margin to about 15 car-lengths before the caution flag waved on lap 15 for Herrington, whose car slowed, prompting him to pull into the infield.

By lap 20 Trump was still on rails out front running the top side of the speedway. Tom Sears Jr. and Tim Sears Jr. looked for a way to gain ground on the leader.

With 10 laps to go Trump was putting cars down a lap with both Tom Sears Jr. and Tim Sears Jr. within striking distance. Kingsley and a rapidly closing Larry Wight raced in fourth and fifth.

Trump’s pace was slowed by heavy lapped traffic that allowed the racers in second and third to close right in.

With two laps to go Tim Sears Jr. made a run at Trump while still in traffic. He pulled alongside of Trump in turns 1 and 2. Trump didn’t get rattled and won the battle by a margin of 0.348 of a second going under the checkers for his first career win at the speedway.

Tim Sears Jr. settled for second, followed by Wight, Tom Sears Jr., and Ron Davis III.

The second 25-lap Sportsman holdover feature from June was run Saturday. Jimmy Moyer led the opening lap with Mike Button driving into the lead one lap later.

Through 10 laps, Button still led but he had Mike Phelps racing alongside. Phelps took the lead when the two exited turn 4 just before a caution flag.

Phelps cruised to his first win of the season by 2.3 seconds over Button. Bob Henry Jr., Zach Sobotka, and Corey Barker came home third through fifth.

Two other 25-lap Sportsman features took place. In the first feature Joe Kline led the opening lap with Tom Juno going to the lead one lap later on a restart.

With 10 laps to go Juno held the biggest lead of the race while behind him Matt Janczuk, Wade Chrisman, and A.J. Miller battled.

Over the final laps Janczuk was fast on the top side of the speedway, cutting into Juno’s lead. Janczuk took the top spot on lap 21 and motored to his fourth win in eight starts. Juno, Miller, Barker, and Tyler Corcoran finished second through fifth.

In the other Sportsman feature, Torrey Stoughtenger led the opening 3 laps before being passed by Jessica Power and Amy Holland.

Holland got a great run off the bottom groove exiting turn 4 to be scored the new leader on lap 6. She opened a big lead.

With 10 laps to go Holland had Chris Mackey rapidly cutting into her lead racing on the top side of the speedway. Mackey drove into the lead on lap 17, but the pass was negated when the caution flag waved. On the restart, Mackey drove by Holland again to be scored the new leader.

Mackey went on to get the win with Holland second, Jackson Gill third, Alan Fink fourth, and Power fifth.

The roofs came off the Late Models for their 20-lap feature. Max Hill led until Kevan Cook took over the top spot on lap 9. Chad Homan blasted into the lead one lap later. Over the second half of the race Homan drove away from the field for his fourth win of 2019. Hill, Chris Fleming, Kyle Sopaz, and Dale Caswell finished second through fifth.

The 15-lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature saw Payton Talbot lead until a yellow on lap 4. Cody Manitta took the lead on the restart and went on to win the race over Talbot. Ed Lukas, Pat Nolan, and Dave Brown.

This Saturday, the Fulton Speedway program will be presented by Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux.

The Trailer Race of Destruction will be held, paying $1,000 to win.

There will also be features for the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman, Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models, and E&V Energy Novice Sportsman.

It will also be Autograph Night. Before the night’s racing, everyone is invited to get up close to the cars and meet the drivers for autographs, photos, and driver giveaways.

Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. Fans 18 and younger received free grandstand admission. See www.fultonspeedway.com for more details.

Fulton Speedway feature finishes

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Tyler Trump, Tim Sears Jr., Larry Wight, Tom Sears Jr., Ron Davis III, Rob Bellinger, Dave Marcuccilli, A.J. Kingsley, Billy Whittaker, Nick Krause, Jeff McGinnis, Pat Ward, Jeff Sykes, Glenn Forward, Jeremy Dygert, Collin DuBois, Joe Shields, Billy Shantel, Brian Murphy, D.J. Forbes, Brent Cross, Andy Noto, Bobby Herrington, Todd Root, Dale Planck, Garret Rushlow.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 (25 laps): Matt Janczuk, Tom Juno, A.J. Miller, Corey Barker, Tyler Corcoran, Wade Chrisman, Bob Henry Jr., Charlie Tibbitts, Joe Kline, Mike Phelps, Brandon Ford, Jimmy Moyer, Casey Williams, Brandon Carvey, Tyler Murray, Austin Germinio, Chuck Miller, Rocky Grosso, Zach Payne, Isaiah Forward, Jake Petit, Rich Riggs Jr., Joe Sobotka, Rick Miller.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (25 laps): Chris Mackey, Amy Holland, Jackson Gill, Alan Fink, Jessica Power, Mike Button, Robert Gage, Chris Corbett, Willy Decker Jr., Kyle Perry, Dylan Zacharias, Brett Draper, Scott Mallette, Joey Buonagurio, Michelle Courcy, Kearra Backus, Zach Sobotka, Jeff Prentice, Steve Marshall, Mike Stanton Jr., Brandon Chretien, J.J. Courcy, Torrey Stoughtenger, Jake Davis, Ryan Dolbear, Derek Webb, Bill Sauve.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (from June 1, 25 laps): Mike Phelps, Mike Button, Bob Henry Jr., Zach Sobotka, Corey Barker, Willy Decker Jr., Jackson Gill, Tyler Corcoran, Charlie Tibbitts, Rocky Grosso, Kearra Backus, Jimmy Moyer, Amy Holland, Tyler Murray, Brandon Carvey, Michelle Courcy, Jake Davis, Joe Sobotka.

Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models (20 laps): Chad Homan, Max Hill, Chris Fleming, Kyle Sopaz, Dale Caswell, Tucker Halliday, Sean Beardsley, Matt Kitts, Kevan Cook, Bret Belden, Darin Horton.

E&V Energy Novice Sportsman (15 laps): Cody Manitta, Payton Talbot, Ed Lukas, Pat Nolan, Dave Brown, Mikey Wight, Matt Richardson, Dana Camenga, Jason Lopes, Scott Kline.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.