BREWERTON —Tom Sears Jr. from Clay beat the DIRTcar Modified competition in Friday’s 35-lap feature race at Brewerton Speedway.

Sears started 13th and steadily worked his way forward into the top two by lap 18 and then set his sights on leader Chris Hile.

Sears chipped away at Hile’s cushion, finally passing him on lap 29. The rest of the way Sears survived a late caution flag and restart to become the first repeat winner in the division in 2019.

Other winners on A-Verdi Storage Containers Night were Larry Wight (Empire Super Sprints), Mark Yorker and J.J. Courcy (Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman), and Casey Sykes (U.S. Air Force Mod Lites).

Katelyn Hile and Tim Harris led the DIRTcar Modifieds to the initial green flag, with Katelyn Hile grabbing the lead. Chris Hile, running the top groove, drove into the top spot on lap 3.

By lap 10, Chris Hile, running the top side, and Jimmy Phelps, running the bottom, were in a two-car breakaway at the front of the field. Katelyn Hile, Tom Sears Jr., Joe August, and Andrew Ferguson were in a tight battle behind the leaders.

With 10 laps to go Chris Hile put a couple of lapped cars between himself and Sears as Phelps, Tim Sears Jr. (who started 15th), and Billy Decker showed in the top five.

Sears started putting pressure on Hile as they raced each other while putting cars down a lap. Sears drove under Hile and into the lead on lap 29.

On lap 33 the yellow flag waved for the final time when Chris Hile spun in turns 3 and 4 when a slower car slowed his momentum while he was still in contention for the win.

When racing resumed, Tom Sears Jr. outran Tim Sears Jr. and the rest of the field to claim his second win of 2019. Billy Decker, Jimmy Phelps, and Chad Phelps finished third through fifth.

Thirty cars signed into the pits for race number three in the five-race Donath Motor Worx Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Speedweek.

Larry Wight led the 25-car, 25-lap feature field in the early going. He extended his margin to a full straightaway by lap 5, leaving Denny Peebles, Cook, Danny Varin, and Matt Tanner to battle it out for top-five positions.

With 10 laps to go and no caution flag to slow the pace, Wight was in his own zip code way out front. Tanner, Jordan Poirier, Peebles and Jason Barney showed in the top five.

Over the final laps there was no stopping Wight winning. Tanner, Poirier, Peebles, and Barney placed second through fifth.

In the first 25-lap feature for the Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman class, Tyler Murray jumped out to the early lead.

By lap 10 Murray opened up a 10-car cushion between himself and Mark Yorker, who was in a tight fight with John Strickler for second and third. Chris Mackey and Alan Fink raced for fourth and fifth.

On lap 17 Yorker saw the opening he needed when Murray slid up the track enough to let him drive under Murray and into the lead. Yorker kept the point the rest of the way and took the checkered flag ahead of Murray, Fink, Mackey, and Strickler.

In the second 25-lap Sportsman feature, Torrey Stoughtenger bolted out to the early lead until J.J. Courcy drove into the lead on lap 4.

With 10 laps remaining, Courcy was still in control of the race with a half-a-straightaway ahead over Colby Herzog. Behind the top were Stephen Denton, Mike Prentice and Zach Sobotka.

A caution flag on lap 20 erased Courcy’s advantage and bunched the field. Courcy kept the lead on the restart and went on to notch his first career Brewerton Speedway Sportsman win. Sobotka was second, Herzog third, Denton fourth, and Quinn Wallis fifth.

Joe Garafolo take the lead at the drop of the green in the 20-lap U.S Air Force Mod Lites feature. Garafolo still led at the halfway point with Tucker Halliday, Casey Sykes, Mike Mullen, and Brian Meyers running right with the leader.

On lap 12 Sykes went to the top groove of the speedway to drive into the lead. He went on to his third-straight Brewerton win. Garafolo, Halliday, Mullen, and Hunter Lawton finished second through fifth.

This Friday, Syracuse Haulers and Collectibles Galore will present Bonus Bucks Night. Racing will feature the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman, U.S Air Force Mod Lites, Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair Four-Cylinders, and the Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour.

See for more details.

Brewerton Speedway Feature Finishes

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Tom Sears Jr., Tim Sears Jr., Billy Decker, Jimmy Phelps, Chad Phelps, Andrew Ferguson, Ron Davis III, Larry Wight, Pat Ward, Roy Bresnahan, Katelyn Hile, Dave Marcuccilli, Jim Witko, Chris Hile, Tyler Trump, Joe August, Jason Occhino, Andy Noto, Tim Harris, Nick Krause.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (25 laps): Larry Wight, Matt Tanner, Jordan Poirier, Denny Peebles, Jason Barney, Danny Varin, Jeff Cook, Paulie Colagiovanni, Billy VanInwegen, Shawn Donath, Joe Trenca, Sam Reakes IV, Tommy Wickham, Davie Franek, Chuck Hebing, Jonathan Preston, Chad Miller, Emily VanInwegen, Kelly Hebing, Ryan Harrison, Scott Holcomb, Josh Pieniazek, Tyler Rand, Pete Richardson, Dave Axton.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 (25 laps): Mark Yorker, Tyler Murray, Alan Fink, Chris Mackey, John Strickler, Bob Henry Jr., Addison Bowman, Tim Devendorf, Mike Fowler, Corey Barker, Jeff Taylor, Brandon Carvey, Dalton Rombough, Bailey Groves, Rick Rogala, Kevin Root, Amy Holland, Jeff Prentice.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (25 laps): J.J. Courcy, Zach Sobotka, Colby Herzog, Stephen Denton, Quinn Wallis, Earl Rudy, Chris Hulsizer, Willy Decker Jr., Dylan Zacharias, Chris Cunningham, Charlie Tibbitts, Jim Spano, Torrey Stoughtenger, Joe Sobotka, Ryan Dolbear, Jake Petit, Mike Prentice, Riley Rogala.

U.S Air Force Mod Lites (25 laps): Casey Sykes, Joe Garafolo, Tucker Halliday, Mike Mullen, Hunter Lawton, Brian Meyers, Justin Williams, Doug Williams, Roger Olschewske, Kelly Skinner, Ben Reed, Tom Mackey, Jim Dunham, Kyle Demo, Zack Babcock.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.