FULTON — Fulton Speedway ended its regular season Saturday in a big way. Races included last-lap passes, with winners not decided until the flag stand. Track champions were crowned to carry momentum into the 34th annual Outlaw 200 Weekend on Oct. 4-5.

Saturday’s feature winners on Dot Foods/Power Seal Driveway Sealing Night were Ron Davis III in the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, Amy Holland and Chris Mackey in the Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman class, Bret Belden in the Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models, and Richard Murtaugh in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman.

The 2019 Fulton Speedway track champions are Larry Wight for the Modifieds, Jackson Gill for the Sportsman class, and Chad Homan for the Late Models.

In the 35-lap Modified feature, Jeff Sykes led the opening three laps before Ron Davis III drove under him to take the point.

Through 10 laps Davis held the lead over Tom Sears Jr., with Sykes, Tim Sears Jr., and Pat Ward also in the top five.

On lap 16, Tim Sears Jr. moved into second and set his sights on Davis. With 10 laps to go and no caution flags, Tim Sears Jr. crept a bit closer to the leader.

Sears cut Davis’ lead down to a few car lengths by the time just five laps remained in the race.

On the final lap, Sears got to Davis’ back bumper, but Davis didn’t flinch. He beat Tim Sears Jr. to the checkers by 0.325 of a second. Tom Sears Jr., Rob Bellinger, and Pat Ward rounded out the top five.

When the final points were counted, Larry Wight, who was at Lebanon for the Modified Super DIRTcar Series, won the track championship by one point over Tim Sears Jr.

In the first 25-lap Sportsman feature, Amy Holland jumped into the lead, setting a quick pace out front. With five laps completed, Holland and Tim Devendorf were in two-car breakaway at the front of the field. Wade Chrisman, Rocky Grosso, and Robert Gage ran third through fifth.

Holland hit her marks and was first under the checkers for the win. Devendorf, Chrisman, Gage, and Tyler Corcoran finished second through fifth.

In the second 25-lap Sportsman feature, Isaiah Forward led the first two laps before Ryan Dolbear took over on the top side on lap 3.

After a caution flag on lap 8, Charlie Tibbitts moved to the front until lap 13, when title contender Chris Mackey took the top spot after working on Tibbitts for a number of laps.

With 10 laps to go, Matt Janczuk, who started 15th, moved into second and set his sights on Mackey. Janczuk ran the high groove and looked like he made the pass for the lead when the caution came out negating the pass.

The outcome came down to the restart. Knowing how quick Janczuk was on the top, Mackey switched to the higher groove on the restart and went on to the win over Janczuk, Tibbitts, Bob Henry Jr., and Zach Sobotka.

Jackson Gill was the Sportsman track champ by two points over Chris Mackey.

The 20-lap Late Models feature was an exciting battle between Bret Belden and Kevan Cook. They raced side-by-side almost entire race. The difference in the race was a caution and single-file restart with three laps to go that gave Belden the win, his second of the 2019. Kyle Sopaz, Cook, Dale Caswell, and Chad Homan finished second through fifth.

Homan was crowned the Late Models track champion.

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints raced in a 25-lap feature. Jonathan Preston, who won both features Friday at Brewerton, took the lead from Steve Poirier on lap 5 and built a huge lead. A caution on lap 21 erased Preston’s cushion and set up a shootout to the checkered flag.

When racing resumed, it came down to Poirier and Jason Barney, who swapped the lead back and forth. It came down to a drag race exiting turn 4 to the checkers, and Barney won in by 0.095 of a second. Preston was third, followed by Billy VanInwegen and Chuck Hebing.

Cody Manitta led 11 laps of the 15-lap Novice Sportsman feature until Richard Murtaugh made a late-race charge. Murtaugh made the winning pass with three laps to go. Manitta, Payton Talbot, Pat Nolan, and Ed Lukas completed the top five.

In the Power Seal Driveway Sealing Backwards Dash, Chris Mackey passed Alan Fink on the last lap for the win. Fink, Tyler Corcoran, Dylan Zacharias, Tom Juno, and Corey Barker finished second through sixth.

Fulton Speedway finishes

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Ron Davis III, Tim Sears Jr., Tom Sears Jr., Rob Bellinger, Pat Ward, Glenn Forward, Dave Marcuccilli, Bobby Herrington, Billy Whittaker, Todd Root, Tyler Trump, Nick Krause, Billy Shantel, D.J. Forbes, Chris Curtis, Rusty Smith, Joe Shields, Collin DuBois, Jeff Sykes, Garret Rushlow, Andy Noto.

Track Champion: Larry Wight.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 (25 laps): Amy Holland, Tim Devendorf, Wade Chrisman, Robert Gage, Tyler Corcoran, Alan Fink, Austin Germinio, Mike Phelps, Tyler Murray, Rocky Grosso, Tom Juno, Kyle Perry, Steve Marshall, Jake Davis, Jeff Prentice, Joe Kline, Brett Draper, Remington Hamm, Michelle Courcy, Josh Amodio, Rick Miller, Torrey Stoughtenger, Jason Amidon.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (25 laps): Chris Mackey, Matt Janczuk, Charlie Tibbitts, Bob Henry Jr., Zach Sobotka, Corey Barker, Ryan Dolbear, Isaiah Forward, Dylan Zacharias, Willy Decker Jr., Jessica Power, Jimmy Moyer,  Casey Williams, Joe Sobotka, A.J. Miller, Brandon Carvey, Gavin Eisele, Brandon Chretien, Jackson Gill, Rachel Zacharias, Bill Suave, Kearra Backus, Addison Bowman.

Track Champion: Jackson Gill.

Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models (20 laps): Bret Belden, Kyle Sopaz, Kevan Cook, Dale Caswell, Chad Homan, Chris Fleming, Harry Halliday, Craig Graham, Matt Kitts, Max Hill, Sean Beardsley, Mike Kazmierczak.

Track Champion: Chad Homan.

E&V Energy Novice Sportsman (15 laps): Richard Murtaugh, Cody Manitta, Payton Talbot, Pat Nolan, Ed Lukas, Josh VanTassell, Keith Stevenson, Brett Sears, Nick Stadelman, Daniel Kline, James Peck, Dakota Erhart.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (25 laps): Jason Barney, Steve Poirier, Jonathan Preston, Billy VanInwegen, Chuck Hebing, Davie Franek, Paulie Colagiovanni, Matt Tanner, Scott Holcomb, Danny Varin, Shawn Donath, Jeff Cook, Brett Wright, Dylan Swiernik, Kyle Moffit, Kelly Hebing, Steve Glover, Pete Richardson, Tyler Catier, Denny Peebles, Ryan Harrison, Alex Bergeron, Emily VanInwegen.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.