Cliff signs autographs

Oswego Speedway racer Dave Cliff signs autographs for young fans. Cliff won Saturday's Pathfinder Bank SBS feature at the track.

OSWEGO — Defending Oswego Speedway Novelis Supermodified track champion Otto Sitterly motored to his second feature win of the season on Saturday at the track.

Starting 11th in the 18-car feature field, Sitterly sped to the front to capture the 50-lap race win.

Aric Iosue, Brandon Bellinger, Dave Shullick Jr., and David Danzer completed the top five in the race.

Rounding out the top 10 were Alison Sload, Michael Barnes, Logan Rayvals, Keith Shampine, and Jeff Abold.

In the 30-lap feature for the Pathfinder Bank Small-Block Supers, Dave Cliff notched the win, his second of the season.

Anthony Losurdo finished second, and Mike Bruce placed third. Rounding out the top five in the 12-car feature were Cameron Rowe and Josh Sokolic.

The 25-lap feature for the 350 Supermodifieds was marred by a fiery crash just after the checkered flag. The car of Philadelphia, New York driver Vern LaFave, which crossed the finish line in second place, struck the wall and went up in flames. The track safety crew rushed to the scene to get LaFave away from the flames and extinguish the fire. LaFave was transported to Upstate Medical Center in Syracuse with injuries that were considered non life-threatening.

On Sunday afternoon, the speedway’s Twitter account showed a photo of a recovering LaFave smiling from his hospital bed. “We are very happy to report that 350 Supermodified driver Vern LaFave is recovering from the injuries he sustained in last night’s accident. LaFave is in good spirits,” the accompanying statement said.

The cars of LaFave and race winner Dalton Doyle were battling for the victory. After the cars crossed the finish line, they brushed against each other, sending LaFave’s car into the first-turn wall.

The program was sponsored by Helena Agri-Enterprises.

Dan Connors Jr., Tim Snyder, and Dave Danzer won 12-lap Novelis Supermodified heats.

Winning 10-lap SBS heats were Mike Bruce and Josh Sokolic.

There is no racing this Saturday at Oswego Speedway.

The next racing program at the track will be held July 6. It will be sponsored by Holiday Inn Express & Suites, and will include the 75-lap Novelis Supermodified Grand Prix, the 35-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS Grand Prix, and the 35-lap 350 Supermodified Grand Prix. A fireworks display will cap the evening. See for ticket information or more details.

Oswego Speedway feature finishes

Novelis Supermodifieds (50 laps): 1. Otto Sitterly (7), 2. Aric Iosue (11), 3. Brandon Bellinger (02), 4. Dave Shullick Jr. (95), 5. David Danzer (52), 6. Alison Sload (39), 7. Michael Barnes (68), 8. Logan Rayvals (94), 9. Keith Shampine (55), 10. Jeff Abold (05), 11. Tim Snyder (0), 12. Lou LeVea (83), 13. Jack Patrick (90), 14. David Gruel (50), 15. Joe Gosek (00), 16. Dan Connors Jr. (01), 17. Camden Proud (54), 18. Hal LaTulip (56).

Pathfinder Bank SBS (30 laps): 1. Dave Cliff (50), 2. Anthony Losurdo (1), 3. Mike Bruce (04), 4. Cameron Rowe (77), 5. Josh Sokolic (26), 6. Greg O’Connor (90), 7. James Babcock (15), 8. Stephen Flack (32), 9. Dave LaTulip (27), 10. Brad Haynes (88), 11. Travis Bartlett (03), 12. Russell Bartlett (02).

350 Supermodifieds Top 3: 1. Dalton Doyle (08), 2. Vern LaFave (97), 3. John Burke (01).


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.