OSWEGO — Kevin King (men’s division), Maureen Ball (women’s division) and Dan DeGraw (men’s senior division) recently outshot a competitive field of golfers to become the Stone Creek Golf Club champions for the 2019 season.

The two-day event included a field of 38 golfers across three divisions of gross and net scoring.

The men’s division, led by King (multiple club champion holder), shot a two-day total of 155. Chris Wright and Randy Griffin set the pace early on day one as each fired a 76. King and Tom Drumm also had their sights set on the championship by shooting a 79, sitting comfortably just three off the leaders heading into day two.

Wright and Griffin slowly lost ground after the turn as King’s consistency, experience, and patience helped him make a late charge. King carded a 1-over par on the back for a 76 on the day and to secure the club championship title.

The women’s division saw Ball card a day-one score of 87. She was three behind reigning champ Lynn Young and two behind Kelly Wells. 

Ball put up a score of 82 (169) on day two, tying Wells (169) in the process. The match moved to a sudden-death hole on nine. As a crowd of spectators followed the pair, Wells and Ball both made par on the ninth hole, which led to another match-winning opportunity on the 18th hole. Ball’s approach shot settled just below the hole and she went on to sink the 15-foot uphill birdie putt to run away with the division championship.

The men’s senior division was a battle between Rick Doherty and DeGraw on day one.  DeGraw sat in the clubhouse at 78, while Doherty shot a 79 heading into day two.

Bob Holmes made a late charge firing a 76 (162) to edge out Doherty (163) by a stroke for second place. DeGraw’s two-day score of 154 helped him outshoot the field by eight strokes, earning him the club championship honors.

SCGC would like to thank its staff for preparing the golf course for this event, and to also give out a thank you to the club’s sponsors.

The tournament was well managed by Will Weimer, SCGC owner and PGA head professional; Amanda Brownell, assistant golf professional; and owner Scott Baker.

Tournament Results

Men’s Division


  1. Kevin King, 155
  2. Chris Wright, 157
  3. Randy Griffin, 159


  1. Joe Verelst, 132
  2. Kevin King, 139
  3. Mani Perivemba, 140

Women’s Division


  1. Maureen Ball, 169*
  2. Kelly Wells, 169
  3. Barb Hadcock, 172


  1. Lynn Young, 121
  2. Barb Hadcock, 132
  3. Kelly Wells, 133

Men’s Senior Division


  1. Dan DeGraw, 154
  2. Bob Holmes, 162
  3. Rick Doherty, 163


  1. Rick Doherty, 127
  2. Rusty Hinckley, 127
  3. Bob Holmes, 134

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.