Swinging for a base hit

Pictured is Tommy Kirwan competing for Oswego's 12-and-under Little League team last season.

OSWEGO — Oswego is set to compete in the District 8 12-and-under Little League All-Star Tournament, which starts this weekend.

Oswego’s 12U roster consists of Gavin Ruggio, Isaac Krul, Dominic Alfano-Kimball, Owen Sincavage, Owen Seubert, Tommy Kirwan, Nolan Roy, Mason Naumann, Daniel Callen, Carter Guynn, Matt Willis, Nolan Connors, Cam Atkinson, Oly Hoefer and Jack Haynes.

Oswego will also host one of the three pools in the tournament. Competing in the blue pool, Oswego goes up against Baldwinsville, Central Square and Liverpool.

The pool play games will either be played at Lagoe or Losurdo Field at the Fort Ontario Complex.

The first batch of games is scheduled for this Saturday, with each game starting at 10 a.m. Oswego faces Central Square at Lagoe Field, while Baldwinsville takes on Liverpool at Losurdo Field.

The second round of pool play matchups is this Sunday at 10 a.m. Oswego takes on Liverpool at Losurdo Field, and Central Square faces Baldwinsville at Lagoe Field.

Pool play wraps up next Tuesday with both games at 6 p.m. It’ll be Oswego versus Baldwinsville at Lagoe Field, and Central Square against Liverpool at Losurdo Field.

The top two teams of each pool move on to the championship bracket.

Seeding for the bracket will first be based off of the best win/loss percentage. If there are multiple teams tied, seeding selection goes to the lowest runs above replacement. If the RAR comparisons still show a tie, there will be a blind draw.

Skyway Park in North Syracuse is slated to host each game of the championship bracket. The quarterfinal round is Thursday, July 18 at 6 p.m.; the semifinals take place on Friday, July 19 at 6 p.m.; and the championship game is Sunday, July 21, at noon.

District 8 12U All-Star Tournament schedule

Pool Play (Each game scheduled for 10 a.m. unless noted)

Saturday, July 13

Oswego vs. Central Square (at Lagoe Field)

Baldwinsville vs. Liverpool (at Losurdo Field)

Sunday, July 14

Baldwinsville vs. Central Square (at Lagoe Field)

Oswego vs. Liverpool (at Losurdo Field)

Tuesday, July 16 (Games scheduled for 6 p.m.)

Oswego vs. Baldwinsville (at Lagoe Field)

Central Square vs. Liverpool (at Losurdo Field)


Championship Bracket (at Skyway Park)

Quarterfinals (Games scheduled for 6 p.m.)

Thursday, July 18 (Top two seeds receive byes)

4-seed vs. 5-seed

3-seed vs. 6-seed

Semifinals (Games scheduled for 6 p.m.)

Friday, July 19

4/5 seed winner vs. 1-seed

3/6 seed winner vs. 2-seed

Championship (Scheduled for noon)

Sunday, July 21

Semifinal winners


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.