On the track

Pictured is Otto Sitterly in his No. 7 supermodified racecar during Oswego Speedway's season opener this past weekend.

Points leaders for each division announced

OSWEGO — After what turned out to be two days worth of season-opening excitement at Oswego Speedway, the track will open the month of June with another big program set for Saturday, June 8. Presented by Burke’s Do It Best Home Centers and Bosco’s, the program will be headlined by the Novelis Supermodified twin 35-lap features.

Otto Sitterly was the feature winner in the first of two Jim Shampine Memorial twin 50-lap races held this past Sunday. With a fifth-place effort in the second race, Sitterly is also the current points leader ahead of Doug Didero and Keith Shampine.

Alison Sload is currently riding fourth in the supermodified point standings after making history in the second race. She became the first female feature winner in the division. Her victory in the second race has all but been the talk of short-track racing this week.

Jeff Abold and Joe Gosek, who both garnered a top finish in the season opener, are currently fifth and sixth, respectively, in the supermodified point standings over Dan Bowes, Dave Shullick Jr., Brandon Bellinger, and Dan Connors Jr. The list of drivers are all in the top 10.

Dave Cliff was able to get things off to a hot start last weekend, driving the Tim Barbeau owned No. 50 to the second-straight checkered flag in the 25-lap Tony White Memorial event.

David LaTulip and Josh Sokolic make up the remainder of the top three in points ahead of Tony Pisa, in fourth, and Anthony Losurdo in fifth.

Driving the Vic Miller No. 11, Steve Duphily was the winner in the inaugural 350 Supermodified event, outdueling fellow New Englanders Johnny Burke, Mike Scott, and Eddie Witkum Jr.

With the first of eight shows in the books for the 350 Supermodifieds, it is New England leading the way as Duphily sits on top by 12 points over Witkum, Losurdo, Burke, Scott, and weekly campaigners Barry Kingsley, Vern LaFave and Mike Bruce.

The 350 Supermodifieds will receive the night off next Saturday, allowing the Sunoco New York Super Stock Series to join the race card with a 30-lap “tune-up” for the Dave London Memorial race scheduled to take place during Classic Weekend.

To purchase tickets for the upcoming June 8 program, call the track box office at (315)-342-0646.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, visit online at OswegoSpeedway.com. Fans can also follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or like on Facebook at Facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

Below are the top points standings for each division through May 26.

Novelis Supermodifieds

1. Otto Sitterly (7), 200

2. Doug Didero (3), 188

3. Keith Shampine (55), 184

4. Alison Sload (39), 183

5. Jeff Abold (05), 182

6. Joe Gosek (00), 172

7. Dan Bowes (25), 169

8. Dave Shullick Jr. (95), 167

9. Brandon Bellinger (02), 155

10. Dan Connors Jr. (01), 145


Pathfinder Bank SBS

1. Dave Cliff (50), 110

2. David LaTulip (27), 104

3. Joshua Sokolic (26), 92

4. Tony Pisa (89), 92

5. Anthony Losurdo (1), 90

6. Cameron Rowe (77), 87

7. Travis Bartlett (03), 82

8. Russ Bartlett (02), 81

9. Steve Flack (32), 78

10. Greg O’Connor (90), 76


350 supermodifieds

1. Steve Duphily (11), 110

2. Eddie Witkum Jr. (18), 98

3. Anthony Losurdo (1), 92

4. John Burke (01), 90

5. Michael Scott (10), 89

6. Barry Kingsley (06), 87

7. Vern LaFave (97), 86

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.