Supermodified winner

Mexico’s Michael Barnes captured the victory Saturday at Oswego Speedway in the 75-lap Grand Prix for the Novelis Supermodified class.

OSWEGO — Despite starting the 75-lap Novelis Supermodified feature in the ninth row, Mexico’s Michael Barnes stormed to the front to win the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Prix on Saturday at Oswego Speedway.

Doug Didero finished second, with Dave Danzer third. Completing the top five were Jeff Abold and Otto Sitterly.

Oswego’s Anthony Losurdo also enjoyed a big night. He won the 35-lap feature for the Pathfinder Bank Small-Block Supers and also won the 20-lap main event for the 350 Supermodifieds.

Logan Rayvals, Joe Gosek, and Dan Connors Jr. won 12-lap Novelis Supermodified heats. Sitterly turned the fastest lap in group time trials (15.863 seconds), followed by Aric Iosue (15.926) and Alison Sload (15.929).

Rounding out the top 10 in the 25-car Novelis Supermodified feature were Connors, Dan Bowes, Rayvals, Tyler Thompson, and Tim Snyder.

In the 11-car SBS feature, Losurdo crossed the line first ahead of Dave Cliff, David LaTulip, Cameron Rowe, and Mike Bruce. Rounding out the field were Brad Haynes, Joshua Sokolic, Greg O’Connor, James Babcock, Travis Bartlett, and Russ Bartlett.

Winning 10-lap SBS heats were Sokolic and Losurdo. In group time trials, Losurdo posted the fastest lap time (18.637) ahead of Cliff (18.930) and Rowe (19.067).

There were just three cars in the 20-lap feature for the 350 Supermodifieds. Losurdo got the win over Dalton Doyle and Barry Kingsley.

Oswego Speedway Feature Finishes

Novelis Supermodifieds (75 laps): 1. Michael Barnes (68), 2. Doug Didero (3), 3. Dave Danzer (52), 4. Jeff Abold (05), 5. Otto Sitterly (7), 6. Dan Connors Jr. (01), 7. Dan Bowes (25), 8. Logan Rayvals (94), 9. Tyler Thompson (98T), 10. Tim Snyder (0), 11. Dave Gruel (50), 12. Brandon Bellinger (02), 13. Camden Proud (54), 14. Dave Shullick Jr. (95), 15. Alison Sload (39), 16. Joe Gosek (00), 17. Keith Shampine (55), 18. Dave McKnight Jr. (70), 19. Mark Sammut (78), 20. Jack Patrick (90), 21. Jerry Curran (99), 22. Lou LeVea Sr. (66), 23. Aric Iosue (11), 24. Hal LaTulip (56), 25. Ben Seitz (32).

Pathfinder Bank SBS (35 laps): 1. Anthony Losurdo (1), 2. Dave Cliff (50), 3. David LaTulip (27), 4. Cameron Rowe (77), 5. Mike Bruce (04), 6. Brad Haynes (88), 7. Joshua Sokolic (26), 8. Greg O’Connor (90), 9. James Babcock (15), 10. Travis Bartlett (03), 11. Russ Bartlett (02).

350 Supermodifieds: 1. Anthony Losurdo (1), 2. Dalton Doyle (08), 3. Barry Kingsley (06). 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.