FULTON — Everyone knew Dave Marcuccilli was a talented racecar driver with all the Sportsman wins and championships accumulated over the years. Over the winter he made the decision to move up to the DIRTcar 358 Modified division and call the Fulton Speedway his Saturday night home for the first time in his career.

It didn’t take him long to adjust to the more powerful Modified. On Saturday he dominated the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified 35-lap feature after taking the lead on lap 5 in the caution-free race.

Other winners on Syracuse Haulers Night were Mike Button, Joe Sobotka, and Alan Fink in the Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman division, Kevan Cook in the Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models, and Richard Murtaugh (2 wins) in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman mains.

Bill Shantel and Joe Shields led the 27-car field down to the initial green flag in the 35-lap Modified feature. Shantel led the opening lap before Nick Krause drove into the top spot one lap later.

Marcuccilli went to the high side of the speedway to blast into the lead on lap 5, with Ron Davis III moving into second.

By lap 20 Marcuccilli held a comfortable lead as he put lapped cars between himself and second-place Davis.

Over the final laps there was no denying Marcuccilli his first Fulton Speedway Modified win. Davis settled for second, followed by Todd Root, Glenn Forward, and Tim Sears Jr.

In the first 25-lap Sportsman feature, Jim Spano took advantage of his starting position to grab the early lead. Ton Juno was second, with Joe Sobotka, Mike Button, and Jackson Gill following.

After moving into second, Sobotka hounded Spano. On lap 11, Sobotka drove around Spano exiting turn 4 to be scored the new leader.

The first caution of the race came at lap 16 to give the field one last shot at Sobotka and the win.

When racing resumed, Sobotka drove a flawless race pick up his first win since June 16, 1987, when he raced weekly in the Modified division. Jim Spano, Button, Gill and Zach Sobotka finished second through fifth.

In the second 25-lap Sportsman feature, Torrey Stoughtenger and Jimmy Moyer raced side-by-side with neither driver gaining much of an advantage for several laps. Through 10 laps, Stoughtenger had the biggest lead of the race, just a few car lengths. Moyer, Kyle Perry, Alan Fink, and Mike Richmond trailed.

On lap 21, Fink moved into second and started putting pressure on Stoughtenger. Fink made the winning pass on the final lap for his first win of 2019 at the speedway.

A holdover May 25 second Sportsman feature was completed on Saturday. Jeff Prentice led the opening three laps before Torrey Stoughtenger took the top spot in a three-wide pass for the lead at the flagstand.

With 10 laps remaining, Stoughtenger still showed the way out front with Mike Button, Tyler Murray, and Tom Juno still in contention for the win.

Stoughtenger and Button swapped the lead back and forth within inches of each other and never touching. On the final lap, Button made the winning pass for the narrow win over Stoughtenger. Chris Mackey, Juno, and Brandon Ford.

In the 20-lap Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Model feature, Max Hill and Kevan Cook led the opening couple of laps. With five laps complete, Cook held a slim lead over Chris Fleming.

With five laps left, Cook was fighting off challenges by Fleming. Cook managed to put a few car lengths between himself and Fleming at the end to pick up the win. Fleming finished second with Chad Homan, Harry Halliday and Dale Caswell rounding out the top five.

Richard Murtaugh won both 15-lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman features, a scheduled one and a June 1 holdover.

This Saturday, the racing card will include two 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified features plus the Pit Stop Convenience Stores $1,000-to-win Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Model Showdown. The Late Models will have an open draw coming through the pit gate. The Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman and E&V Energy Novice Sportsman will also be in action.

Fans 18 and younger receive free grandstand admission.

See www.fultonspeedway.com for more details.

Fulton Speedway Feature Finishes

Syracuse Haulers June 8 Results

Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds (35 laps): Dave Marcuccilli, Ron Davis III, Todd Root, Glenn Forward, Tim Sears Jr., Larry Wight, Tom Sears Jr., Nick Krause, Rob Bellinger, Billy Whittaker, Jeremy Dygert, Tyler Trump, Pat Ward, Jeff McGinnis, Billy Shantel, Jeff Sykes, D.J. Forbes, A.J. Kingsley, Chris Hulsizer, Joe Shields, Randy Shantel, Jason Occhino, Lucas Heintz, Jim Walsh, Ben Bushaw, Dale Planck.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 (25 laps): Joe Sobotka, Jim Spano, Mike Button, Jackson Gill, Zach Sobotka, Mike Phelps, Tom Juno, Chris Mackey, Amy Holland, Brandon Ford, Tyler Corcoran, Mike Fowler, Bob Henry Jr., Charlie Tibbitts, Rocky Grosso, J.J. Courcy, Rick Miller, Josh Amodio, Gavin Eisele, Colby Herzog, Rachel Zacharias, George Dyer, Henry Desormeau, Mark Effner, Michelle Courcy, Jeff Prentice.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (25 laps): Alan Fink, Torrey Stoughtenger, Jimmy Moyer, Kyle Perry, Mike Richmond, Dylan Zacharias, Gordy Button, Corey Barker, Steve Marshall, Wade Chrisman, Jake Davis, Willy Decker Jr. Robert Gage, Dave Moyer, Addison Bowman, A.J. Miller, Jessica Power, Casey Williams, Brett Draper, Bill Sauve, Kearra Backus, Brandon Carvey, Joe Kline, Derek Webb, Austin Germinio, Ryan Gustin, Tyler Murray.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman May 25 Holdover #2 (25 laps): Mike Button, Torrey Stoughtenger, Chris Mackey, Tom Juno, Brandon Ford, Tyler Murray, Alan Fink, Wade Chrisman, Tyler Corcoran, Amy Holland, A.J. Miller, Jessica Power, Derek Webb, Austin Germinio, Jeff Prentice, Chris Bonoffski, Kyle Perry, Joe Kline, Kearra Backus.

Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models (20 laps): Kevan Cook, Chris Fleming, Chad Homan, Harry Halliday, Dale Caswell, Jason Parkhurst, Bret Belden, Max Hill, Matt Kitts, Mike Kazmierczak.

E&V Energy Novice Sportsman (15 laps): Richard Murtaugh, Cody Manitta, Payton Talbot, Ryan Dolbear, Pat Nolan, Joe Scrimale, Scott Kline, Bobby Heintz, Andrew Stadelmann, Mikey Wight, Riley Rogala.

E&V Energy Novice Sportsman June 1 Holdover (15 laps): Richard Murtaugh, Payton Talbot, Ryan Dolbear, Scott Kline, Pat Nolan, Larry Taylor, Cody Manitta, Riley Rogala, Mikey Wight.

One-on-One Spectator Races: Chris Rombough.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.