Section III Athletics announced their recipients for this year’s Scholar-Athlete Award.

Melissa Chun and Anthony DiBlasi got the nod for Oswego. Chun competed on the varsity girls swim team for the Buccaneers and plans to attend Princeton University to further her education. DiBlasi was on the varsity boys soccer, hockey and lacrosse teams, and will go to Binghamton University.

Camille and Ean Stevenson received the honor for Fulton. Camille excelled in volleyball, swimming and softball for the Raiders, as she will continue her academic career at the University of Rochester. Ean competed in golf, bowling and track, and will be attending Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Velvet Howland and Sean Mason were named scholar-athletes for Hannibal. Howland, who competed in volleyball and track, will go to the Rochester Institute of Technology. Mason, a member of the Warriors’ cross country, basketball and track teams, plans to attend Clarkson University.

Mexico’s scholar-athlete honors went to Brionna Emery and Logan Craig. Emery, an athlete for the Tigers’ soccer, indoor track and lacrosse teams, is heading to SUNY Fredonia. Craig competed for Mexico’s golf and baseball squads, as he will attend Clarkson.

The Section III Scholar-Athlete Awards dinner is scheduled for this Monday at the SRC Arena at Onondaga Community College.

For more information about Section III Athletics services and programs, visit their web site at


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.