Looking for a three-peat

Pictured is Dave Shullick Jr. in his No. 95 car at Oswego Speedway. Shullick will look to win his third-straight Novelis Supermodified "Grand Prix" 75-lap feature this Saturday at the track.

OSWEGO — Oswego Speedway will showcase the annual “Grand Prix” this Saturday, presented by Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

The 75-lap feature for the Novelis Supermodifieds has been a staple during the “Grand Prix” at the speedway since 2012. This year, the event will be joined by a 35-lap race for the Pathfinder Bank Small-Block Supers with the addition of a 25-lap run for the 350 Supermodified class.

Grand Prix night, which already features a fireworks show following the races, will also include the second autograph session of the season.

The grandstands open for hot laps at 4 p.m. Following hot laps, autograph session for all drivers and teams will begin at 5:15 p.m. After the track is cleared, group time trials will hit the surface at 6:20 p.m. before heat racing at 7 p.m.

The evening will also include the second edition of the Novelis Fan Can Chase. It will be held outside of the speedway’s main gates prior to the first heat race.

With six features events already in the record books for the supermodifieds, it comes as a surprise to no one that Otto Sitterly is currently in the lead in point standings. He has already seen Victory Lane twice, and finished on the podium for all but one race.

A win in the June 22 50-lap feature allowed Sitterly to open his significant point lead over Jeff Abold significantly. With six regular features down and six to go, Sitterly now has a 70-point advantage over Abold. They are followed by Alison Sload, Brandon Bellinger, and Joe Gosek.

In the SBS division, Dave Cliff and Anthony Losurdo are fighting for the top spot. Cliff and Losurdo have split the four main events this season, with Cliff currently on top of the standings by only one point over Losurdo.

The standings for the 350 supers division are currently knotted at 300, with Vern LaFave and John Burke tied at the top. Barry Kingsley and Anthony Losurdo are currently third and fourth, less than thirty points back.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, visit www.OswegoSpeedway.com. You can also follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or like on Facebook at Facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

To purchase tickets for the Saturday’s program, contact the box office at 315-342-0646 or email oswegospeedway@gmail.com.

Shullick searching for ‘Grand Prix’ glory this Saturday

OSWEGO —Dave Shullick Jr. will look to lock up his third-straight “Grand Prix” night victory this Saturday at Oswego Speedway.

Through six feature events, Shullick has a trio of top-five finishes with the all-new Chris Osetek No. 95 racecar. The 2017 track champion is closing in on the top five in points behind teammate Keith Shampine and Joe Gosek.

If Shullick wants to make it three Independence Weekend victories in a row, he’ll have to outdo a long list of names including former Grand Prix winners Otto Sitterly, Gosek, and Aric Iosue. All three drivers will be in the field.

Sitterly, the current points leader for the Novelis Supermodified division, could be the clear favorite for victory in Saturday’s race. Sitterly has five podium finishes in six events thus far.

Joining Sitterly as early-season feature winners are Shullick, Jeff Abold, Dave Danzer, and Alison Sload. These five drivers also combine for a total of 15 top-five finishes.

Continuing to knock on the door are Gosek, Shampine, Brandon Bellinger, Dave Gruel, Logan Rayvals, and Tyler Thompson. All six drivers have one or more top-five finishes, proving the supermodified division has seen no shortage of competition this season.

Dan Connors Jr, Tim Snyder, and Lou LeVea Jr. have all shown great speed this year and will aim to challenge the field. Snyder and Connors are both coming off heat race victories on June 22.

Rookie of the Year contenders Jack Patrick and Camden Proud will be on hand as well, as the pair continues their fight for the title. The Pathfinder Bank Small-Block Supers veterans have been in a very close battle through the first half of the season.

Invaders expected for the 75-lap ‘Grand Prix’ include hall of famer Doug Didero, who will be making his second start of the season with the No. 3 car. Didero finished fourth in each of the twin 50-lap features on May 26.

Lou LeVea Sr. and Jerry Curran also intend to debut their cars this Saturday. LeVea Sr. will be in the track record holding, former Graham Racing No. 99 while Curran will again pilot the Brian Allegresso-built No. 99.

Dave McKnight is making the trip from Canada, piloting the Gary Morton owned No. 70. With McKnight, Didero, Rayvals, and Sammut all committed, this will bring us to a total of four Canadian drivers in the field.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.