OSWEGO — The DIRTcar 358 Modified Series will face its busiest week of the season during NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week at Oswego Speedway and regional venues.

Five-consecutive days and nights of racing action are scheduled for DIRTcar 358 Modified teams, which begins Tuesday and ends Saturday.

The week kicks off at Utica-Rome Speedway at the Tuesday Night Thunder, while Wednesday night action heads to Weedsport Speedway.

The races heat up Thursday afternoon, as 358-Modified drivers will start the day in Oswego qualifying for starting positions in the Friday Night Lights 25-lap heat races and the Salute to the Troops 150. Following the qualifying races, teams will head to Brewerton Speedway for the Hurricane 100.

All focus turns to Oswego Speedway on Friday, where drivers will be looking to lock themselves into the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Salute to the Troops 150. A practice session will be held in the afternoon before the 25-lap heat races under the lights. Last Chance Showdowns will take place on Saturday morning and will be the final opportunity for teams to punch their ticket into the 150-lap event. Pre-race ceremonies for the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Salute to the Troops 150 are scheduled to begin at 1:45 p.m., with the green flag being unfurled at 2 p.m.

Eight DIRTcar 358 Modified Series events have been completed coming into SDW. Over 150 drivers have attempted to qualify for those events.

Erick Rudolph leads the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series point standings coming into the week. Rudolph picked up wins at Plattsburgh Airborne Speedway and Utica-Rome Speedway. In addition to the two wins, Rudolph has seven top-five finishes in seven starts. Dave Marcuccilli finds himself second in the standings, trailing Rudolph by 91 points. Marcuccilli picked up a win in the most recent DIRTcar 358 Modified Series event at Mohawk International Raceway. Corey Wheeler, Mike Mahaney and Tim Fuller currently sit third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Other drivers to collect DIRTcar 358 Modified Series victories this season include Mat Williamson, Billy Dunn and Fuller. Williamson scored wins at Fulton Speedway, Cornwall Motor Speedway and Mohawk International Raceway. Dunn and Fuller have one win each at Can-Am Speedway.

DIRTcar 358 Modified Series point standings

1. Erick Rudolph (1,980), 2. Dave Marcuccilli (1,889), 3. Corey Wheeler (1,850), 4. Mike Mahaney (1,845), 5. Tim Fuller (1,821), 6. Jordan McCreadie (1,728), 7. Mat Williamson (1,710), 8. Kyle Dingwall (1,626), 9. Michael Parent (1,611), 10. Ryan Arbuthnot (1,605). 


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.