FULTON — Baldwinsville’s Jeremy Dygert has had a handful of starts in a 358 Modified in his rookie season at the Fulton Speedway. But on Saturday, he raced like a veteran.

In the 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified feature, Dygert took the lead on lap 3 and then held off all challenges for his first career win in the division in only his sixth feature start.

Other winners on NAPA Auto Parts and Tim Grevelding Snap-on Tools Night were Paulie Colagiovanni (Empire Super Sprints), Chris Mackey & Jackson Gill (Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman), Chris Fleming (Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models), and Cody Manitta (E&V Energy Novice Sportsman).

Joe Shields jumped out to the early lead in the 358 Modified feature. On lap 3, Dygert went to the top side of the speedway to pass Shields for the lead.

Dygert and Tyler Trump battled for the lead on lap 10 in a two-car breakaway, while behind them Ben Bushaw, Pat Ward, and Shields raced for third through fifth.

On lap 20, Dygert led by almost a full straightaway over Trump as Ward, Bushaw, and Todd Root filled in the top five.

A caution flag on lap 23 erased Dygert’s three-second lead and put the heavy hitters of the division within striking distance to try and steal the win. Dygert kept the point when racing resumed.

Over the final laps, Dygert drove flawless laps, hitting his marks and holding off Root, Tim Sears Jr., Erick Rudolph, and Ward to earn the victory.

Thirty Sprints signed into the pits for race number four of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Speedweek.

In the 25-lap feature, Paulie Colagiovanni, who had two Speedweek wins during the week, led the opening lap. Chuck Hebing took the lead on lap 2.

Through 10 laps, Hebing and Colagiovanni still battled out front as they started to catch the back of the field. Matt Tanner, Dylan Westbrook, and Danny Varin within the top five.

Hebing held his biggest lead — half a straightaway — with 10 laps to go. With five laps to go, Hebing maintained the lead and was fighting to try to put cars a lap down as Colagiovanni, Tanner, and Larry Wight closed in on Hebing.

With two laps to go in the caution-free race, Colagiovanni caught Hebing setting up a dash to the checkers.

In heavy traffic on the last lap, Colagiovanni had to go where Hebing wasn’t. Going into turns 3 and 4, Colagiovanni went to the top side, pulling even with Hebing exiting turn 4. The fans were on their feet as Colagiovanni won by seven-thousandths of a second over Hebing. Wight was third, followed by Tanner and Westbrook.

In the first 25-lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature, Robert Gage set the early pace. Through five laps, Gage still led but was getting heavy pressure from Steve Marshall, who took the lead a lap later.

Marshall and Chris Mackey were almost dead even with 10 laps to go, with Willy Decker Jr., Marshall Gage, and Dylan Zacharias still in contention just before a caution flag was waved. On the restart, Mackey slid up in front of Marshall in turn 2 to be scored the new leader. He kept the lead the rest of the way. Completing the top five at the finish were Decker, Marshall, Tyler Murray, and Zacharias.

In the second 25-lap Sportsman feature, A.J. Miller opened a big lead by lap 5. Jessica Power, Jake Davis, Rocky Grosso, and Corey Barker battled from second on back.

With 10 laps complete, Miller led by almost a full straightaway. In second place, Jackson Gill was flying on the top side trying to close in on the leader.

The most serious incident of the race happened around the halfway point when Brandon Ford and another racer made racing contact in turn 4, sending Ford into a spin. Jimmy Moyer, with nowhere to go, made hard contact with Ford, causing his car to roll over and bringing out the red flag. Moyer was OK as he climbed out of his heavily damaged car.

When the green came back out, Gill got around Miller to be scored the new leader. Gill stayed in front the rest of the way to get the win over Miller, Tyler Corcoran, Barker, and Alan Fink.

In the 20-lap Late Models feature, Jason Parkhurst bolted out to the early lead. Max Hill and Chris Fleming raced side by side for second and third, with Bret Belden and Tucker Halliday, in his first Late Model start, in fourth and fifth.

At the halfway point Parkhurst was still quick out front being chased by Fleming, Belden, Kyle Sopaz, and Hill.

Parkhurst started slowing when a right rear tire started going soft and finally flat, handing the lead to Fleming. Fleming went on to win the race over Belden, Chad Homan, Sopaz, and Kevan Cook.

In the 20-lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature, Brandon Chretien led before Cody Manitta took the lead for good on lap 4. Pat Nolan, Richard Murtaugh, Matt Richardson, and Mikey Wight rounded out the top five at the finish.

This Saturday, Pioneer Window Manufacturing will present the program. It will include features for the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman, Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, and the first visit from the Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour.

Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. Fans 18 and younger receive free grandstand admission.

See www.fultonspeedway.com for more details.

Fulton Speedway Feature Finishes

NAPA Auto Parts & Tim Grevelding

Snap-on-Tools ESS Speedweek

July 6 Results

Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds (35 laps): Jeremy Dygert, Todd Root, Tim Sears Jr., Erick Rudolph, Pat Ward, Ron Davis III, Larry Wight, Jeff McGinnis, Tom Sears Jr., Ben Bushaw, Jeff Sykes, Joe Shields, Glenn Forward, Dave Marcuccilli, Chris Hile, Rob Bellinger, Bobby Herrington, Brad Godshalk, Billy Shantel, Garett Rushlow, Andy Noto, Randy Shantel, Nick Krause, D.J. Forbes, Colin Dubois, Dale Planck, Billy Whittaker, Tyler Trump.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (25 laps): Paulie Colagiovanni, Chuck Hebing, Larry Wight, Matt Tanner, Dylan Westbrook, Danny Varin, Jason Barney, Billy VanInwegen, Jonathan Preston, Jeff Cook, Davie Franek, Shawn Donath, Joe Trenca, Jordan Poirier, Jeff Trombley, Scott Holcomb, Chad Miller, Sam Reakes IV, Mike Kiser, Ryan Harrison, Parker Evans, Denny Peebles, Kelly Hebing, Josh Pieniazek, Pete Richardson, Emily VanInwegen.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 (25 laps): Chris Mackey, Willy Decker Jr., Steve Marshall, Tyler Murray, Dylan Zacharias, Robert Gage, Addison Bowman, Zach Sobotka, Chris Hulsizer, Mike Button, J.J. Courcy, Kyle Perry, Wade Chrisman, Rick Miller, Austin Germinio, Joe Sobotka, Tom Juno, Brandon Carvey, Brad Alger, Ryan Dolbear, Brett Draper, Dorian Wahdan, Josh Amodio, Joe Kline, Jeff Prentice, Ryan Gustin.

Dot Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 (25 laps): Jackson Gill, A.J. Miller, Tyler Corcoran, Corey Barker, Alan Fink, Bob Henry Jr., Jessica Power, Mike Phelps, Jake Davis, Garrison Krentz, Casey Williams, Jim Spano, Rocky Grosso, Brandon Ford, Charlie Tibbitts, Zach Payne, Mike Stanton Jr., Torrey Stoughtenger, Rachel Zacharias, Rick Rogala, Ben Karlsen, Kearra Backus, Amy Holland, Gavin Eisele, Jimmy Moyer.

Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Late Models (20 laps): Chris Fleming, Bret Belden, Chad Homan, Kyle Sopaz, Kevan Cook, Sean Beardsley, Max Hill, Tucker Halliday, Matt Kitts, Jason Parkhurst.

E&V Energy Novice Sportsman (20 laps): Cody Manitta, Pat Nolan, Richard Murtaugh, Matt Richardson, Mikey Wight, Scott Kline, Brett Baldwin, Larry Taylor, Coleby Felber, Brandon Chretien, Josh VanTassell.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.