Keuka WLAX

Pictured is Oswego native Madelaine Taylor competing for the Keuka College women's lacrosse team.

KEUKA PARK — Oswego High School graduate Madelaine Taylor put together a stellar season in her first year with the Keuka College women’s lacrosse team.

A North Eastern Athletic Conference third-team selection, Taylor tallied a team-leading 60 goals on the season. She also racked up 11 assists, 16 ground balls, and five draw controls for the Wolves.


Hailey Carroll (University at Albany): G. Ray Bodley High School graduate Hailey Carroll capped an efficient first season with University at Albany women’s lacrosse.

Carroll notched a team-leading 44 draw controls, 45 goals, and 13 ground balls.

Her immediate impact with the Great Danes made her the unanimous choice for the America East Conference Rookie of the Year.

Rachael Purtell (SUNY New Paltz): Oswego High School graduate Rachael Purtell recently finished her career with the New Paltz women’s lacrosse team.

Purtell ended her senior year with 15 goals, six assists, 26 ground balls, and 39 draw controls. Her career totals include 58 goals, 12 assists, 106 ground balls, and 110 draw controls.

Emma Andrews (Clarkson University): Mexico High School graduate Emma Andrews put a bow on her junior season with the Clarkson University women’s lacrosse team.

Andrews collected 14 goals, four assists, 14 draw controls, and eight ground balls.

Sammy Tanner (SUNY Plattsburgh): G. Ray Bodley High School graduate Sammy Tanner performed well in her first season with the Plattsburgh women’s lacrosse team.

Tanner garnered 10 goals, five assists, and 12 ground balls.

Kyra O’Gorman (St. Bonaventure University): Oswego High School graduate Kyra O’Gorman totaled eight goals, 11 ground balls, and three draw controls in her junior campaign with the St. Bonaventure University women’s lacrosse team.

Claire Richardson (Indiana University of Pennsylvania): Oswego High School graduate Claire Richardson wrapped up her junior season for IUP women’s lacrosse with a total of 23 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers. Richardson also started every game for the Crimson Hawks this season.

Mariah Metcalf (Iona College): Oswego High School graduate Mariah Metcalf was a Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference All-Academic Team selection in her junior season with the Iona College women’s lacrosse team.

Statistically, Metcalf finished with three goals, two assists, 14 ground balls, nine caused turnovers, and eight draw controls.


Shawn Walberger (Morrisville State): G. Ray Bodley High School graduate Shawn Walberger finished his senior season for the Morrisville State men’s lacrosse team with a team-leading 141 ground balls.

Walberger tallied 305 ground balls in his career.

Tyler Shaw (Anna Maria College): G. Ray Bodley High School graduate Tyler Shaw tallied 24 ground balls in his junior season with the Anna Maria College men’s lacrosse team.


Kennedy Lamb (University of Maryland-Baltimore County): Mexico High School graduate Kennedy Lamb recently competed with the University of Maryland-Baltimore County softball team in the NCAA Division I Tournament.

The Retrievers received an automatic bid to the tournament following a sweep of Stony Brook in the America East Championship.

UMBC went on to lose both of its tournament games in the Norman, Oklahoma regional.

Lamb finished her junior season with 13 hits, three runs scored, and four RBIs.

Mariah Galletta (Herkimer College): Oswego High School graduate Mariah Galletta competed well in her first season with the Herkimer College softball team.

Galletta had a .414 batting average with two home runs, 16 RBIs, 26 runs scored, and five stolen bases.


Derek Cuyler (Jefferson CC): Hannibal High School graduate Derek Cuyler was named to the Mid-State Athletic All-Conference Team for his efforts with the Jefferson Community College baseball team.

Also named JCC’s freshman male athlete of the year, Cuyler finished with a .333 batting average, six RBIs, 15 runs scored, and four stolen bases.

Trevor Bradshaw (SUNY Fredonia): Oswego High School graduate Trevor Bradshaw recently wrapped up his junior season with the SUNY Fredonia baseball team.

Bradshaw compiled a .272 batting average, 14 RBIs, 17 runs scored, six doubles, and five walks.

Taber Carter (Elmira College): Hannibal High School graduate Taber Carter put up some good numbers on the mound in his junior season with the Elmira College baseball team.

As a relief pitcher for the Soaring Eagles, Carter put together a 3.96 earned-run average, tossed 38.2 innings, and struck out 16 batters.


Tayler Dence (St. John Fisher): Hannibal High School graduate Tayler Dence recently competed at the NCAA Track & Field Championships with St. John Fisher College.

Dence took on the 400-meter hurdles and finished 13th in the preliminaries (1:03.19). Dence fell short of qualifying for the finals.

Kiersten Abbott (St. John Fisher): Hannibal High School graduate last competed at the AARTFC track championships with St. John Fisher.

Competing with the Cardinals’ 4 x 100-meter relay, Abbott and her teammates came in 11th (50.18).

Erica Pawlewicz (St. John Fisher): G. Ray Bodley High School graduate Erica Pawlewicz recently competed at the AARTFC track championships with St. John Fisher.

Pawlewicz finished eighth in the 400-meter dash (58.09), 11th as part of the 4 x 100-meter relay (50.18), and 26th in the long jump (16’ 5.25”).

Olivia Pawlewicz (St. John Fisher): G. Ray Bodley High School graduate Olivia Pawlewicz wrapped up her first season with St. John Fisher at the AARTFC track championships.

As part of the 4 x 800-meter relay, Pawlewicz and her teammates combined to place ninth (9:53.88).

Gabby Griffin (Alfred University): Hannibal High School graduate Gabby Griffin competed at the AARTFC track championships for Alfred University.

Griffin ran on the 4 x 100-meter relay, which placed 13th with a time of 53.46.

Alexis Cole (Utica College): Hannibal High School graduate Alexis Cole took on the AARTFC track championships recently with Utica College.

She was part of the 4 x 200-meter relay team that finished 12th in 1:48.83.


Daniel Mullen (SUNY Cobleskill): Mexico High School graduate Daniel Mullen was named the Most Valuable Swimmer for his efforts with the SUNY Cobleskill men’s swim team. Mullen was honored with the award at the college’s annual Athletic Awards Convocation.

The Oswego native was voted as the North Eastern Athletic Conference’s Co-Swimmer of the Year by the league’s coaches after earning NEAC Co-Rookie of the Year honors in 2017-18.

During the regular season, Mullen earned NEAC swimmer of the week honors twice. He has been honored with award four times in his career.

College athlete submissions

The Palladium-Times sports department is looking for submissions and information on local former high school athletes who are currently competing for a college sports team, including the 2019 fall season.

The department puts together a regular college sports roundup centered on former high school athletes from Oswego County.

To send information on a specific athlete or a wide variety of college athletes, email Sports Editor Kevin L. Smith at You can also call in information at 315-343-3800 (ext. 2242).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.