Track champion

Pictured is Otto Sitterly at Victory Lane after he captured his eighth Novelis Supermodified regular-season track title at Oswego Speedway last season.

OSWEGO — Otto Sitterly will look to defend his Novelis Supermodified division track title in Oswego Speedway’s regular-season finale this Saturday, presented by Skip’s Fish Fry.

Sitterly, who captured the supermodified track honors last season, is currently tied with Nolan Swift (five of them A-Modified titles) for the most regular-season titles in supermodified division history at the speedway.

Sitterly is in good position to break the tie and grab his ninth supermodified division championship. With 1,078.5 points in the standings, he leads Jeff Abold by 60.5 points (1,018).

Bentley Warren and Jim Shampine are next on the list with seven titles each. Greg Furlong has captured four division championships, and Ed Bellinger Sr. (all A-Modified), Doug Didero and Mike Muldoon have three titles apiece. Warren Conaim, Doug Heveron and Joe Gosek each have two division championships.

Drivers with at least one regular-season title from the past include Bob Kegebein (Dirt Modified), Jack Murphy (A-Modified), Dick Jerrett Sr. (A-Modified), Michael Barnes, Dave Shullick Jr., Bobby Bond, Art Bennett, Dave Paul, Ron Lux, Todd Gibson, Ken Andrews, Ron Wallace, Kempton Dates, Steve Gioia Jr., Eddie Bellinger Jr., Mike Ordway, Pat Abold, Shawn Muldoon, and Tim Gareau.

In the Pathfinder Small-Block Supers title chase, Anthony Losurdo has his sights set on winning his second-straight division championship. Losurdo, who leads the SBS standings with 1,075, is ahead of Dave Cliff Jr. by 50 points (1,025).

Russ Brown is the SBS division title all-time leader with five. Mike Bond had four titles. Cliff, in line to potentially dethrone Losurdo this Saturday, currently has three division championships under his belt. Dean Hoag, Keith Gilliam and Mark Regan each have two titles. Bob Goutermout, Scott Landers, Furlong, Ray Graham, Kevin Knopp, David Gruel, Kreig Heroth, Andrew Schartner, and Losurdo all have a title apiece.

Losurdo also has a shot to take home the first 350 supermodified division title. With a point count at 685, he leads Barry Kingsley by 38 points (647).

The supermodifieds will go 50 laps for Saturday’s program. SBS will race 30 laps and the 350 Supers are going 25 laps.

Pit gates open at 3:15 p.m., with hot laps running from 4:15-5:30 p.m. Time trials for each division are as follows: SBS (6 p.m.), 350 mods (6:10 p.m.), and supermodifieds (6:20 p.m.). Heat racing, with SBS, supermodifieds and 350 Supers in order, begins at 6:45 p.m. Feature races will follow.

For more information on Saturday’s program, go to

Division Point Standings (Top five for each)

Novelis Supermodifieds: 1. Otto Sitterly (7), 1,078.5; 2. Jeff Abold (05), 1,018; 3. David Gruel (50), 924; 4. Alison Sload (39), 922; 5. Brandon Bellinger (02), 913.

Pathfinder Bank SBS: 1. Anthony Losurdo (1), 1,075; 2. Dave Cliff Jr. (50), 1,025; 3. Dave LaTulip (27), 965; 4. Josh Sokolic (26), 935; 5. Cameron Rowe (77), 854.

350 Supermodifieds: 1. Anthony Losurdo (1), 685; 2. Barry Kingsley (06), 647; 3. Dalton Doyle (08), 507; 4. John Burke (01), 489; 5. Mike Bruce (72), 404.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.