ROSSBURG, Ohio — Dave Blaney took his first career Super DIRTcar Series victory in a 20-lap showdown at Eldora Speedway on Thursday. The crowd erupted when their hometown hero undid his safety belts and stood before the massive Eldora crowd.

Jimmy Phelps crossed the line in second after starting on the pole. Josh Hofenforst finished third with a strong run on the track.

In 2016, everything nearly all came crashing down for Blaney in a violent accident in turn one at Eldora Speedway. To come back to the track that nearly ended his career and wins in a Big-Block Modified is a tremendous accomplishment for the Ohio native.

“It’s cool to win any time here,” Blaney said. “We had some days way back in the 90s here in the sprint car and it’s fun to come race here in a Big-Block Modified. It’s great to race in front of all of you fans and especially to win one.”

Phelps threw everything he had at Blaney, but Blaney kept the car straight, fast, and out in front for the whole 20 laps.

“This was our best finish with the Super DIRTcar Series,” Phelps said. “Last night we had a good run in the heat race, and really missed the setup and put us behind (in the Dirt Derby 100). We made some changes in the car today and we timed really well. It helped to start up toward the front and got a podium finish out of it.”

Hohenforst was locked in and focused on his racing from green flag to checkered flag, but still had a lot of fun.

“It’s awesome to put a show on down here,” he said. “There are so many people that come down and look at these cars and they’ve never seen them down here in Ohio. It’s awesome doing this in front of a big crowd.”

Demetrios Drellos was the fastest in the timed hot lap session, which awarded him the duty of pulling the pill to decide how many cars would be inverted for the start of the feature. Drellos pulled the number eight and that’s what put the Phelps and Blaney alongside each other on the front row.

Next up for the Super DIRTcar Series is Merrittville Speedway this Monday, where the winner will take home $8,000. The series will then head up north to Ransomville Speedway on Tuesday, as the track will take center stage for the 35th annual Summer Nationals.

Feature finish: 1. Dave Blaney, 2. Jimmy Phelps, 3. Josh Hohenforst, 4. Ryan Godown, 5. Chris Hile, 6. Demetrios Drellos, 7. Danny Johnson, 8. Matt Farnham, 9. Ryan Watt, 10. Rick Regalski, 11. Jack Lehner, 12. Paul St. Sauveur, 13. Marcus Dinkins, 14. Chris Grbac, 15. Rusty Smith, 16. Jeremiah Shingledecker, 17. Brett Hearn.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.